Eco-Friendly Paint

By Belinda Recio / September 10, 2011

There are two ways to make a “green” paint. One method involves reducing or eliminat-ing the toxic chemicals that are used in the manufacturing of typical commercial paints. Most of the paint brands on the market contain chemicals that release “VOCs,” or “Vola-tile Organic Compounds” into the air. These VOCs can be irritating and even toxic to people and pets, and they contribute to ozone and smog formation. The other method for creating a “green” paint is to make paint from natural materials, such as milk, clay, chalk, earth, and mineral pigments, plant materials, and other organic ingredients.

Here is a list of paint manufacturers who produce paints with low or no VOCs, or who produce natural paints.

 

AFM Safecoat

www.afmsafecoat.com

AFM eliminated toxic ingredients—such as solvents, heavy metals, chemical residuals, formaldehyde, and other harmful preservatives—from their product line. They also cre-ated the “Ayurveda Essence” line, a palette of 108 colors arranged in 36-color micro palettes that correspond to the three major constitutional types of East Indian medicine: vata, pitta, and kapha.

 

American Clay

www.americanclay.com

Manufactured in and using materials from the United States, American Clay uses natu-ral clays, recycled and reclaimed aggregates, and vibrant natural pigments in their Earth Plaster line. American Clay’s plaster is a practical, environmentally friendly alternative to cement, gypsum, acrylic, and lime plasters. It is compatible with the “breatheable” con-struction practices recommended for both historic and new buildings.

 

Bioshield

www.bioshieldpaint.com

BioShield Paint Company manufactures wall finishes and paints using an extensive col-lection of 50 pigments, based on earth and ultramarine hues. BioShield promises that their paints are the greenest, cleanest, healthiest paints alive. Their paints are zero VOC and solvent-free.

 

Ecos Organic Paints

www.ecospaints.com

Ecos paints and varnishes are totally solvent-free and have been independently tested to reveal 0.0 percent VOCs. In addition to their range of 108 paint colors, Ecos Organic Paints also offer an individualized color-matching service.

 

Freshaire

www. freshairechoice.com

Freshaire Choice paint contains no volatile organic compounds, and is certified by the Greenguard Environmental Institute (GEI), a well-respected industry-independent, non-profit organization that provides verification for low-emitting products. It comes in 65 gorgeous colors.

 

Genuine Old-Fashioned Homemade Milk Paint Company

www.milkpaint.com

Genuine milk paint is made from milk protein, (also known as casein) and lime, (also known as calcium), plus earth and/or mineral pigments. The Genuine Old-Fashioned Homemade Milk Paint Company makes true milk paint in 20 colors.

 

Mythic Paint

www.mythicpaint.com

Mythic®paint is a non-toxic, ultra-low odor paint that provides excellent durability and coverage without the VOCs and cancer-causing toxins. It is available in a 1,232-color palette and can also be matched to any competitors color through a proprietary toxin-free coloring system using color matching software.

 

Sherwin Williams’s Harmony Paints

www.sherwin.com

Sherwin Williams’ Harmony Latex paint is a durable, zero-VOC, low-odor interior product perfect for occupied areas. It meets the criteria for coatings in LEED-certified build-ings.

 

 

Green Decorating Resource Guide

Appliances

• Bosch, www.boschappliances.com, 800-944-2904

• Cuisinart, www.cuisinart.com, 800-726-0190

• GE, www.geappliances.com, 800-626-2005

• Honey Well, www.honeywell.com, 800-328-8194

• InSinkerator, www.insinkerator.com, 800-558-5700

• Sub Zero, www.subzero.com, 800-222-7820

• ToTo, www.totousa.com, 770-282-8686

 

Bedding & More

• Anna Sova Luxury Organics, www.annasova.com, 214-742-7682

• Good Night Naturals, www.goodnightnaturals.com, 866-388-5154

• Lifekind, www.lifekind.com, 800-284-4983

• Savvy Rest, www.savvyrest.com, 866-856-4044

 

Décor and Accessories

• AFM Safecoat, www.afmsafecoat.com, 619-239-0321

• Benjamin Moore, www.benjaminmoore.com, 201-573-9600

• Coyuchi, www.coyuchi.com, 888-418-8847

• Eden Home, www.edenhome.com, 877-513-2212

• Feel More Human, www.feelmorehuman.com, 877-424-8626

• Flor, www.flor.com, 866-281-3567

• Howard Naturals, www.howardnaturals.com, 800-266-9545

• Velux, www.veluxusa.com, 800-888-3589

 

Flooring and Surfaces

• Eco-Friendly Flooring, www.ecofriendlyflooring.com, 866-250-3273

• EcoTimber, www.ecotimber.com, 510-809-8200

• EnviroGLAS, www.enviroglasproducts.com, 972-608-3790

• Ice Stone, www.icestone.biz, 718-624-4900

• Oceanside Glasstile, www.glasstile.com, 760-929-4000

• Robin Reigi, www.robinreigi.com, 212-924-5558

• Stone Source, www.stonesource.com, 212-979-6400

• Teragren, www.teragren.com, 206.842.9477

• Town & Country Flooring, www.tncflooring.com, 212-679-0312

 

Furniture

• Ducduc, www.ducducnyc.com, 877-538-2382

• EcoTots, www.ecotots.com, 866-490-9800

• Earthsake, www.earthsake.com, 877-268-1026

• Emeco, www.emeco.net, 800-366-5951

• Ikea, www.ikea.com

• Jessica Wickham, www.jessicawickham.com, 917-797-9247

• Natural Care, www.simmonskids.com, 877-399-9397

• Q Collection, www.qcollectionjunior.com, 800-775-0994

 

Home-Spa Equipment

• Ashiyu, www.ashiyu.com, 503-232-0920

• Kohler, www.kohler.com, 800-456-4537

• Mr. Steam, www.mrsteam.com, 800-767-8326

• Sunlight Saunas, www.sunlightsaunas.com, 877-292-0020

 

Toys

• Art & Creative Materials Institute, www.acminet.org, 781-293-4100

• EcoKids, www.ecokidsusa.com, 323-352-8115

• Gator Tots, www.gatortots.com, 888-851-8477

• PlanToys, www.plantoysusa.com, 866-517-7526

Belinda Recio

Belinda Recio

Belinda Recio is a writer and curator working at the intersections of nature, art, and soul. She has authored books and iOS apps on a wide variety of subjects, ranging from animals to sacred arts. She is the founder of True North Gallery, where she exhibits art that connects people with the natural world. She is also a past recipient of the United States Humane Society’s Award for Innovation in the Study of Animals and Society.
Belinda Recio

Latest posts by Belinda Recio (see all)

Share This:

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email